The first time I can remember knitting was when I was about 6 years old. My mum taught me and I really persevered with it, undoing, asking for help to sort out, getting in a tangle but ultimately getting the knack of it and feeling very pleased with myself. Mum taught me the basics but I have to say all the rest, decreasing, shaping, increasing and reading patterns I don’t really remember “learning” as such I think I just worked it out by repeatedly going wrong and starting again till it looked right. Some of my methods I am still not sure are strictly speaking correct, but hey they work for me šŸ™‚

I got back into knitting as a teenager when some friends got knitting at school and then spent a few years making quite a few things. A did a really laborious fairisle jumper with a very decorative yolk which I didn’t like on me, was itchy and as a result I never wore. Nowadays I stick with smaller accessories and house things mainly for the reason that I am never quite happy with clothes I knit for myself. Before I married the wonderful Mr H I made him a jumper and my word did he love it! Eventually I had to pull it from his fists as it was threadbare and I was sick of the sight of him in it :-/ Maybe that sweater has been the key to 17 years of happy marriage!

Crochet was a different story altogether. It was a black art to me for many many years. Periodically I would get a book have a try and fail. Until last year when suddenly the mist lifted and I was able to teach myself with the inspiration of blog attic24. I knew that if i wanted to do it I needed to decide I was going to, so that is what I did and on a romantic weekend to stockholm I packed a hook, basic instructions and some yarn and wahey I finally cracked it.

Have phases of knitting and crochet now and a few projects on the go at any one time. I have tried to get my 2 daughters, 15 and 14 into it over the years but they can’t seem to persevere like I did when I was 6. I think everyone’s different and if they don’t enjoy it why strive for it. It looks like it will be down to me to knit the pullies every christmas in this family šŸ™‚

Here’s a few odds and ends of my work.

