Ooooh I had a smashing monday! Half term went much too quickly although we didn’t do a lot of anything it’s nice to have the company of the children for the mundane things like shopping and coffee time – when they were out of bed that is.

Anyway, back to Monday. It had been carefully planned and everyone knew what they were doing, children had bus money to get to Grandmas after school, picnic made, car full of petrol then off we jolly well went! MrH and I had decided to have a day out on our own, when the children went back to school. We are extremely lucky in that we were able to go from our door to the “best bits” of the Lake District in scarcely an hour and, oh boy, the trees were all colours. Beautiful browns, reds, yellows and every colour in between. It was simply stunning. the sun was shining and it was one of those lovely crisp, cold days when you feel so fresh and happy to be alive.

Firstly we went to the town of Kendal for coffee at Farrers coffee shop. Lovely traditional style olde worlde shop with wobbly tables and mis-matched chairs. They sell lovely china teapots and yummy looking jams…mmmmm. I had to partake in a latte and an ENORMOUS toasted teacake at leisure. A quick look round the shops, in particular Armstrong Ward (one of the main objectives for the day) making sure I didn’t go in any of those chain stores I could just as well go in at home.

Next stop Windermere for a spot of Lakeland loveliness. After a few absolutely 100% necessary purchases (she said sheepishly!) it was off for a picnic lunch in a stunning spot overlooking Lake Windermere. As we sat in the car with a thermos of coffee and the newspaper it struck me as amusing. We were like all the other couples round and about, sitting in their cars, eating picnics, just 30 years younger! 🙂

On to Ambleside for a quick nose around all the outdoor pursuits shops (more for MrH than for me I must say) but I thought it only fair to indulge his whim as so much of our life seems to be about me. I think I am a high maintenance girl emotionally and it does me good to step back sometimes and think about how much he has tolerated from me and think about what he likes to do. I really should do it much more than I do.

Grasmere next (I told you it was a whistlestop tour) for some delicious Grasmere gingerbread requested by the children and a visit to the Herdy shop to ooooh and aaarrrr at it’s lovely sheepy goodness. Beautiful bright coloured goodies. Cold, dark and wet outside at this point so a lovely bright warm haven.

Finally a lovely end to the day in Bowness on Windermere for Steak and Ale pie, thick cut chips and Apple and Blackberry crumble with custard. What more can a girl want??? Oh yes, I know, a commitment to do it all again soon!

Louise xx

